About National Transport Medical Institute


Our Vision

Placing a healthy driver behind each steering.

Our Mission

Certify physical and mental fitness by conducting quality medical tests for all the candidates applying for driving licenses, being the pioneer in the medical field of Sri Lanka.

  • Examine physical and mental fitness of all the applicants for diving licences.
  • Improve the quality and security aspects of the licences issued to candidates.
  • Achieve quality of service through proper human resources management

Functions of the Institute as per the Act No 25 of 1997
  • Providing medical services to drivers of all types of vehicles including heavy vehicles.
  • Examine and issuing certificates of physical and mental fitness to drivers of all types of vehicles including heavy vehicles.
  • Subject drivers and operators of all types of motor vehicles to medical examinations and make recommendations regarding their qualifications and suitability.
  • Providing necessary medical services and assistance in road accidents relating to any type of motor vehicles.
  • Ensure that all types of motor vehicles are driven and operated only by persons physically and mentally fit, by the institution itself.
  • Providing medical advice and recommendations on industrial hygiene and industrial accidents.
  • Formulation of relevant standards and fixing of limits pertaining to Transport Medical Activities to be followed by relevant implementing authorities.


The company was owned by the South Western Bus Limited and established at the Ratmalana Depot as a medical center to provide medical facilities to its employees. With the nationalization of the bus companies in 1958, the Ceylon Transport Board came into existence. After the ownership of the bus, it was renamed as 'SLTB Medical Division'.

The Medical Center established at the Ratmalana Depot premises was relocated to SLTB Nugegoda, High Level Road, No: 170 in 1970 with the intention of expanding its services. And operates as a self-generating state statutory body under the State Ministry of Vehicle Regulation, Bus Transport Services and Train Compartments and Motor Car Industry.

Operating in accordance with the National Transport Medical Institutions Act No. 25 of 1997 as a State Statutory Institution, the main objectives of this institute are all those who wish to commence training in heavy vehicles, light vehicles, driving schools in Sri Lanka, issuance of medical certificates to drivers who are referred by other external agencies including the Transport Authority, Hon. Judiciary, Sri Lanka Transport Board, after conducting a high quality medical examination on their health condition.

For this purpose, the head office and 25 branch offices have been established throughout the island. It has been 21 years since the National Transport Medical Institute became a national institution and the national mission it accomplishes is immense

Opening of branch offices

Branch Date Started
Kandy 1999.01.01
Galle 2003.10.02
Kurunegala 2004.12.09
Anuradhapura 2005.06.02
Hambantota 2007.03.05
Rathnapura 2007.03.26
Badulla 2007.04.09
Monaragala 2007.05.09
Ampara 2007.06.05
Batticaloa 2009.01.15
Werahera 2009.03.27
Matara 2009.09.12
Vavuniya 2009.05.22
Mannar 2009.08.24
Trincomalee 2010.01.04
Kilinochchi 2010.11.19
Jaffna 2010.02.08
Gampaha 2010.08.13
Kalutara 2012.01.30
Matale 2013.11.22
Kegalle 2014.07.01
Mulathivu 2014.10.10
Nuwara Eliya 2014.10.17
Polonnaruwa 2014.11.11
Puttalam 2014.12.15

Chairmen who have served in the NTMI since its inception

Mr. Ramal Siriwardena

1998 October - 2001 February

Mr. Sarath Hulangamuwa

2001 February - 2001 June

Dr. Gamini Karunanayaka

2002 April - 2004 April

Mr G.E.F.C. Fernando

2004 July - 2005 July

Dr. Ruwan Vijayamuni

2005 September - 2005 December

Mr M.F. Rasheen

2007 January - 2007 November

Dr. Ruwan Vijayamuni

2008 September - 2010 February

Mr. U.K.D. Indradasa

2010 August -  2013 January

Mr N.P. Imbulagoda

2013 July -  2013 December

Mr. Chandrabhanu Adikaram

2014 January - 2014 December

Mr. K.G. Dharmathilaka (Actg.)

2015 January -  2015 February

Prof. S. Saman Abeysinghe

2015 February - 2015 May

Mr. R.D. Niutan

 2015 Juny - 2015 September

Dr. G.Y.A.R.Pushpakumara

2015 October - 2019 January

Mr. W.S. Sisira Perera

2019 January - 2019 May

Mr. Chandrasiri Vithanage

2019 May - 2019 September

Dr. Savindra Gamage

2020 March - 2023 April

Mr. Darshana Abeyrathne

Mr. Darshana Abeyrathne

2023 May – To date

Organizational Structure